Tags

, , , , , , , ,

On a cold Ohio day, is there anything more enjoyable than brewing a delicious cup of coffee and snuggling up on the couch to read a fun book on entertaining? In my opinion, no. So, to no surprise, that is exactly what I did this afternoon! I picked up Lisa Vanderpump’s book Simply Divine: A Guide to Easy, Elegant and Affordable Entertaining, and read it on this snowy Columbus day.

Lisa Vanderpump is a restauranteur, columnist and TV star. Her book is loaded with wonderful and elegant recipes, dinner party advice and a little more insight into the opulent life of “Pinky.” Vanderpump’s book includes tips on table setting, floral arranging, preparing/presenting food and advice on being a gracious host. Simply Divine is filled with glamorous pictures of Lisa, her adorable Pomeranian Giggy, and of course mouthwatering photos of her recipes!

The book’s layout really appealed to me. Simply Divine starts out with some detail of Vanderpump’s world and background, while incorporating elegant entertaining advice she has learned throughout her years in the restaurant business. After the first few opening chapters, Vanderpump shares her delicious recipes, arranging them it in a unique way. Rather than dividing the book by course (such as breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert), Simply Divine grouped recipes by mood: cozy, sexy, impressive, sunny and lazy. I don’t know about you, but my feelings definitely affect what I feel like eating and cooking! On a snowy day like today, I LOVE how easy it is for me to assess at my mood, LAZY, and flip to chapter eight to find complementary meal ideas.

Simply Divine is simply Vanderfabulous! If you are looking for a book filled with tips on being a gracious hostess, go pick up Simply Divine! You are sure to learn new decorating ideas, dinner party recipes and ways to become a more elegant YOU. I definitely recommend this book to women of all ages and I look forward to sharing it’s advice with friends and family.

